from /n
Check Availability

Domaine des Etangs – 5*

Created with Sketch. , - 16310 - Massignac View on map
Not Rated from 0 review
0/5
100% of guests recommend

REGION : Massignac – Charente
ATMOSPHERE : Countryside
STYLE : Biodynamic
CATEGORY : 5*
ROOMS : 17 rooms

La French Touch

Members benefits
One bottle of local wine, a fruit basket and free buffet breakfast

Starry night

Do you feel the need to for a big breath of fresh air? To see the stars twinkle in the sky again? To feel the planets aligning around you? Let us play shaman. We have your sanctuary. A rare and precious place, hidden in Massignac, in the Charente region of southwestern France, where the world is its most beautiful self: the Domaine des Étangs.

A 5* hotel with 17 keys, a 13th century castle, restored traditional farmhouse, tenant buildings, 1,000-hectare forest park, ponds, herd of Limousin cows (more than 350 animals!), gourmet restaurant, smoking room, double library, spa, swimming pools, 2,500 square meter vegetable garden, an art center… And much more. A former stronghold of the Chasteignier de la Roche-Posay knights, the castle was once a refuge for travelers between Limoges and Angoulême. Nowadays, it is a luxurious resort with lunar charm.

EVERYTHING HERE IS INSPIRED BY ANCIENT LOCAL LEGEND. Several million years ago, a meteorite crashed not far from the estate… Today, this lore provides an opportunity for Garance Primat, the owner, to provide an eco-managed universe connected to the elements, to the earth and to the sky, in a luxurious, peaceful and soothing display of nature. In the castle, the suites (7 in total) with old parquet floors, beams and spectacular exposed beams, old stones and moldings are named after stars and planets (Sun, Venus, Moon, Jupiter…), and are decorated with cutting edge design pieces. The one’s in the farmhouse, which neighbor the gastronomic restaurant, are inspired with finesse and sobriety by the slow cycle of the seasons.

THE SIX TENANT BUILDINGS (from 1 to 5 rooms), finally, are dotted like rustic gems around the ponds, the grove, and the forest. They can be reached on foot or by electric carts. Art is everywhere, in the shared spaces and the park, in small touches, scattered like stardust before concentrating in the Laiterie, an exhibition space where beautiful books, old works, oddities, scientific accessories, minerals and works of art (Yves Klein, Sheila Hocks, Lee Ufan…) create a natural-cosmic cabinet of curiosities.

Like another planet.

To do

GASTRONOMIC RESTAURANT – In the former stables, a refined table that is as ultra-connected to its terroir as it is to the seasonality that sublimates the vegetables, fruits, herbs and flowers of the kitchen garden.
WELLNESS – Take a break and enjoy the indoor swimming pool, the hammams and the frigidarium in the castle’s thermal baths, before booking a treatment or a massage in the Moulin des Étangs (5 rooms).
FITNESS – To keep in shape, weight training and cardio-training machines are freely available
OUTDOOR SWIMMING POOL – Swim a few lengths of the butterfly pool before observing the dragonflies, the domain’s totem animal.
CULTURE – A place for permanent and temporary exhibitions, the Laiterie also houses two libraries: the “Past” library is dedicated to works prior to 1920, while the “Future” library houses editions from 1920 to the present day.
OENOLOGY – Taste a selection of local and non-local wines and champagnes during a workshop with the sommelier.
PARK – A 1,000-hectare complex of forests, pastures and meadows where you can picnic, hike (11 km marked trail), bike or horseback ride; learn to observe game and enjoy the stag’s bellow in the company of the estate’s forest rangers, pick mushrooms, go boating on the ponds; fish in 0-kill mode, for pike, carp, pike-perch, perch and roach in the summer.
KIDS – Located between the castle and the vegetable garden, the children’s playground has three trampolines, a zip line, a climbing spider net, wooden huts with or without slides, a ping-pong table, and swings…
FARM – On request, visit the farm to discover the job of a breeder
VEGETABLE GARDEN – Guided tour and tasting with the gardener in the permaculture garden of more than 2,000 m2!
AND ALSO – A giant chess game, floating tennis court…

The surrounding area

  • Accrobranche (Adventure Park) 2 km away from the domain
  • 18-hole golf course at the Golf de la Prèze
  • Visit Angoulême: the old town, Saint-Pierre cathedral, the comic book museum, les Halles, banks of the Charente river…

Rooms

To show the rooms, first select a booking date

Hotel Theme

CALM
Collection
ECO-FRIENDLY
GASTRONOMIE
REMARKABLE
ROMANTIC
SOUTH WEST
WITH A POOL
WITH A SPA
WITH KIDS
Show All
Created with Sketch.
Starting from from /night

Domaine des Etangs – 5*

Created with Sketch. , - 16310 - Massignac Voir sur la carte
Pas noté 0 avis
0/5
Recommandé par 100% des clients

RÉGION : Massignac – Charente
AMBIANCE : Campagne
STYLE : Biodynamique
CATÉGORIE : 5*
CHAMBRES : 29 chambres

La French Touch

Offert en réservant avec nous
Une bouteille de vin de la région et une corbeille de fruits. Et le petit-déjeuner est inclus.

Quiétude sidérale

Vous avez besoin de prendre une grande bouffée d’air frais ? De souffler ? De revoir les étoiles dans le ciel ? De sentir les planètes s’aligner autour de vous ? Laissez-nous jouer les chamanes. On a votre sanctuaire. Un lieu rare et précieux, caché à Massignac, en Charente, dans le sud-ouest de la France où le monde est plus beau, à défaut de tourner plus rond : le Domaine des Etangs.

UN HÔTEL 5* FRANCHEMENT INTERSIDÉRAL de 29 chambres avec château du XIIIe siècle, longère traditionnelle restaurée, métairies, parc forestier de 1 000 hectares, étangs, troupeau de vaches limousines (le cheptel compte plus de 350 bêtes !), table gastronomique, fumoir, double bibliothèque, espace bien-être, piscines, potager de 2 500 m2, centre d’art… Et plus encore. Ancien fief des chevaliers de Chasteignier de la Roche-Posay, le château offrait, jadis, un refuge aux voyageurs qui cheminaient entre Limoges et Angoulême. De nos jours, c’est un luxueux resort au charme lunaire.

TOUT ICI S’INSPIRE EN EFFET D’UNE ANCIENNE LÉGENDE LOCALE. Il y a de cela plusieurs millions d’années, une météorite se serait écrasée non loin du domaine… L’occasion pour Garance Primat, la propriétaire, de façonner un univers éco-géré et connecté aux éléments, à la terre et au ciel. Entre luxe et nature, un lieu apaisé et apaisant. Dans le château, les suites et chambres (7 au total) avec parquet ancien, poutres et spectaculaires charpentes apparentes, vieilles pierres et moulures empruntent des noms d’astres et de planètes (Soleil, Vénus, Lune, Jupiter…), s’habillant de pièces design pointues. Celles de la longère, voisines de la table gastronomique, s’inspirent avec finesse et sobriété du cycle lent des saisons.

LES SIX MÉTAIRIES (de 1 à 5 chambres), enfin, se découvrent dispersées comme autant de petite pépites rustiques, au gré des étangs, du bocage ou de la forêt. On y accède à pied ou par des voiturettes électriques. L’art s’éparpille partout, dans les espaces partagés et le parc, par petites touches, comme une poussière d’étoiles avant de se concentrer au sein de la Laiterie, espace d’exposition où beaux livres, ouvrages anciens, objets de curiosité, accessoires scientifiques, minéraux et œuvres d’art (Yves Klein, Sheila Hocks, Lee Ufan…) plantent un cabinet de curiosités naturo-cosmique.

Comme une autre planète.

A faire

  • RESTAURANT GASTRONOMIQUE – Dans les anciennes écuries, une table raffinée et ultra connectée à son terroir comme à la saisonnalité qui sublime les légumes, fruits, herbes et fleurs du potager.
  • BIEN-ÊTRE – S’offrir un break et profiter de la piscine intérieure, des hammams et du frigidarium, dans les thermes du château, avant de booker un soin ou un massage au sein du Moulin des Étangs (5 salles).
  • FITNESS – Pour garder la forme, machines de musculation et cardio-training accessibles librement
  • PISCINE EXTÉRIEURE – Ouverte de mai à septembre, pour faire quelques longueurs de nage papillon avant d’observer les libellules, animal-totem du domaine.
  • CULTURE – Lieu d’exposition, permanente et temporaire, La Laiterie accueille aussi deux bibliothèques, celle du « Passé » est dédiée aux ouvrages antérieurs à 1920, celle du « Futur » abrite des éditions de 1920 à nos jours.
  • PARC – Un ensemble de forêts, pâturages et prairies de 1 000 hectares où pique-niquer, randonner à pied (chemin balisé de 11 km), en vélo ou à cheval ; apprendre à observer le gibier et profiter du brame du cerf en compagnie des garde-forestiers du domaine, cueillir des champignons, embarquer sur les étangs ; pêcher, en no-kill, brochets, carpes, sandres, perches et gardons à la belle saison.
  • KIDS – Située entre le château et le potager, l’aire de jeux pour enfants compte trois trampolines, une tyrolienne, un filet araignée d’escalade, des cabanes en bois avec ou sans toboggans, une table de ping-pong, des balançoires…
  • FERME – A la demande, visite de l’exploitation agricole à la découverte du métier d’éleveur
  • POTAGER – Visite guidée et dégustation avec le jardinier au sein du jardin en permaculture de plus de 2 000 m2 !
  • ET AUSSI – Jeu d’échecs géant, terrain de tennis flottant…

Autour

  • Accrobranche (Aventure Parc) à 2 km du domaine
  • Parcours 18 trous au Golf de la Prèze
  • Visite à Angoulême : vieille ville, cathédrale Saint-Pierre, musée de la BD, Halles, rives de la Charente…

Chambres

Pour afficher les chambres, sélectionnez d'abord une date de réservation

Hotel Theme

AU CALME
AVEC LES KIDS
AVEC PISCINE
AVEC SPA
Collection
ECO RESPONSABLE
GASTRONOMIE
LIEUX D'EXCEPTION
ROMANTIQUE
SUD-OUEST
Afficher tout
Created with Sketch.
À partir de €370,00 /nuit